Holy Crap! You’ll also want to recreate this!

My parents just returned from a three-week vacation touring the islands of British Columbia all the way up to Alaska. Isn’t it funny how everyone seems to feel the need to take an Alaskan Cruise the first year of their retirement?! While on one of the Haida Gwaii islands, they discovered this cereal called “Holy Crap”. Holy Crap was featured on “Dragon’s Den”, Canada’s version of the US television show “Shark Tank” so many of you are probably familiar with.  The cereal is gluten-free, organic, high in fiber and protein and an excellent source of Omega-3 and Omega 6, and because it was on TV everyone in Canada knows about it and is talking about it, so they had to try it. My mom comes to me the day after their trip and shows me the empty 8oz bag and says “I have to get more of this!” so I visit the website. It’s $12 a bag!!! I’m thinking, this stuff might be amazing, but I can’t let you spend that much money, not when we have the internet, a source of copy-cat recipes at my finger tips! So I made my way to http://www.veggirlrd.com/, a vegan blog that had already recreated the recipe for me! Here is her recipe:

Crunchy Homemade Buckwheat and Seeds Cereal

Makes 2 3/4 cup (1 pound) or 18-20 servings of 2 tablespoons each

Inspired by Holy Crap Dragons’ Blend and Nature’s Path Qi’a Chia, Buckwheat and Hemp Cranberry Vanilla cereals. 

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons chia seed (4 ounces)
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons shelled hemp seed (5.75 ounces)
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons buckwheat groats (4 ounces)
1/4 cup sweetened dried cranberries (1.2 ounces)
1/4 cup raisins (1.2 ounces)
2 tablespoons dried apples, finely chopped (0.5 ounces)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Combine all ingredients in large mixing bowl. Store in the refrigerator and get ready to be wowed. Serve with fruit.

Nutrient content per 2 tablespoon (0.9 ounce) serving: 120 calories, 6 g fat, 0.5 g saturated fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 0 mg sodium, 11 g carbohydrate, 4 g fiber, 3 g sugar, 5 g protein, 40 mg calcium, 1.8 mg iron

Cooking together is a great way for my mum and I to spend time together, and a recipe as simple as this made it a very low stress afternoon. I am thankful for that.  We had to go to both Sprouts and Whole Foods to find all of the ingredients, and that’s about as hard as it is to make it. You measure it all out, mix it together in a big bowl, then store it in a jar! I found this awesome jar in the back of their pantry when reorganizing it earlier this week. I don’t know anything about it, the “Improved Corona Jar”, but I’m assuming it’s Canada’s version of the “Mason” jar.  Since the jar is “Made in Canada” and I am replicating a Canadian cereal, I couldn’t think of a better jar to store it in!

For breakfast this morning, I measured out 2 tbls of the cereal and 4 tbls of unsweetened almond milk and let it soak 5 minutes while I prepared blueberries and strawberries to add. I was so surprised at how delicious it was! What an amazing way to sneak in tons of healthy Omega fatty acids, raw protein and fiber first thing in the morning! Enjoy and let me know what you think!!

One thought on “Holy Crap! You’ll also want to recreate this!

Leave a Reply

